top of page

Innovation for a green future
The team powering the hydrogen revolution

Founded in May 2022 in Châteaulin (Finistère), in the heart of Brittany between Brest and Lorient, Efficient Hydrogen Motors (EHM) embodies disruptive innovation in the field of the Hydrogen internal combustion engine (MCI H2).

Our objective: to decarbonize the mobility and generator sectors while preserving more than a century of European know-how and a large number of jobs in the mechanical sector: automotive, maritime and aeronautical industries as well as their subcontractors.

Our history

wilson and andré.png

The story of EHM is the result of a chance meeting in 2008, in a pizzeria in Los Angeles. André Morin, a former helicopter pilot and mechanic in the French army, met Dr. Wilson Hago, a Californian researcher who is behind dozens of patents on decarbonization. André presents Wilson with his revolutionary concept: a five-stroke, zero-emission, high-efficiency engine powered by hydrogen.

Captivated by this avant-garde idea, Wilson decided to join forces with André to patent and develop this breakthrough innovation. To do this, they collaborate with several high-level engineers like Tim, Kurtis and Philippe.

From innovation to realization:

In 2022, seeking to bring this concept to life, André and Wilson called on Didier Arenal, an industrialist specializing in precision mechanics in Brest. After an in-depth study of the market, Didier understands the immense potential of this innovation for the heavy mobility market, a sector in need of effective solutions at a reasonable price for its decarbonization. Together they found EHM to bring this revolutionary solution to the industry

AdobeStock_119290802.jpeg

A dedicated and passionate team 

Equipe efficient hydrogen motors ehm.jpg

Supported from the start by the Brittany region and accompanied by local university research structures, such as UBS, ESTACA, or even ENSTA, Didier quickly manages to unite a dynamic and talented team around the project.

Incubated first by ENSTA Bretagne, then by ACCEL'AIR, which provide the start-up with premises and laboratories, the EHM team is able to develop, test and fine-tune its first 265Kw MCI H2 in record time, which by the end of 2023 will be installed in various demonstrators: a generator in partnership with NOVAKAMP, a bus and a refuse collection vehicle with major players in the sector.

We embrace remote and face-to-face working, allowing us to extend our reach beyond local borders, covering the entire territory and even beyond internationally.

Our team is made up of people from varied and rewarding backgrounds. Interns and work-study trainees play a crucial role in our structure, bringing a fresh perspective and vibrant energy. By integrating them, we are clearly committed to training the next generation and bringing local dynamism, thus actively contributing to the regional innovation ecosystem.

We also benefit from the precise know-how of our applied technicians and the wealth of expertise of our engineers and doctors, graduates of prestigious institutions such as Polytechnique, HEC Paris, London Business School and Harvard.

The unique combination of these talents and our extensive geographic presence strengthen our ability to innovate and lead the hydrogen heavy mobility movement. We are convinced that it is this synergy and this commitment that puts us at the forefront of sustainable mobility.

bottom of page

top of page

Innovation pour un avenir vert : l'équipe propulsant la révolution de l'hydrogène

Fondée en mai 2022 à Châteaulin (Finistère), au cœur de la Bretagne entre Brest et Lorient, Efficient Hydrogen Motors (EHM) incarne une innovation disruptive dans le domaine du moteur à combustion interne Hydrogène (MCI H2).

Notre objectif : décarboner les secteurs de la mobilité et des générateurs tout en préservant un savoir-faire européen plus que centenaire et un grand nombre d’emplois de la filière mécanique : industries automobiles, maritimes, aéronautiques ainsi leurs sous-traitants.

Notre histoire

wilson et andré.png

L'histoire de EHM est le fruit d’une rencontre fortuite en 2008, dans une pizzéria de Los Angeles. André Morin, ancien pilote d’hélicoptère et mécanicien de l'armée française, y fait la connaissance du Dr Wilson Hago, chercheur californien à l’origine de dizaine de brevets autour de la décarbonation . André présente à Wilson son concept révolutionnaire : un moteur cinq temps à haut rendement zéro-émission alimenté par de l’hydrogène.

Captivé par cette idée avant-gardiste, Wilson décide s'associer avec André pour breveter et développer cette innovation de rupture. Pour ce faire, ils collaborent avec plusieurs ingénieurs de haut niveau comme Tim, Kurtis et Philippe.

De l'innovation à la réalisation :

En 2022, cherchant à donner vie à ce concept, André et Wilson font appel à Didier Arenal, industriel spécialisé en mécanique de précision à Brest. Après une étude approfondie du marché, Didier comprend le potentiel immense de cette innovation pour le marché de la mobilité lourde, un secteur en manque de solutions efficaces à un prix raisonnable pour sa décarbonation. Ensemble, ils fondent EHM pour offrir cette solution révolutionnaire à l'industrie

AdobeStock_119290802.jpeg

Une équipe dédiée et passionnée 

Equipe efficient hydrogen motors ehm.jpg

Soutenu dès le départ par la région Bretagne et accompagné par des structures de recherche universitaire locales, telles que l'UBS, l'ESTACA, ou encore l’ENSTA, Didier arrive rapidement à fédérer autour du projet, une équipe dynamique et talentueuse.

Incubée d’abord par l'ENSTA Bretagne, puis par ACCEL’AIR, qui mettent à disposition de la startup des locaux et des laboratoires, l’équipe d’EHM arrive en un temps record à développer, tester et mettre au point son premier MCI H2 de 265Kw qui d’ici fin 2023 sera monté dans différents démonstrateurs : un générateur en partenariat avec NOVAKAMP, un bus et une benne à ordures ménagères avec des acteurs majeurs du secteur.

Nous embrassons le travail à distance et en présentiel, ce qui nous permet d'étendre notre portée au-delà des frontières locales, couvrant tout le territoire et même au-delà à l'international.

Notre équipe est composée de personnes issues de parcours variés et enrichissants. Les stagiaires et alternants jouent un rôle crucial dans notre structure, apportant une perspective fraîche et une énergie vibrante. Par leur intégration, nous nous engageons clairement à former la nouvelle génération et à apporter un dynamisme local, contribuant ainsi activement à l'écosystème régional de l'innovation.

Nous bénéficions également du savoir-faire précis de nos techniciens appliqués et de la richesse d'expertise de nos ingénieurs et docteurs, diplômés d'institutions prestigieuses comme Polytechnique, HEC Paris, London Business School et Harvard.

La combinaison unique de ces talents et notre présence géographique étendue renforcent notre capacité à innover et à mener le mouvement de la mobilité lourde à hydrogène. Nous sommes convaincus que c'est cette synergie et cet engagement qui nous placent à l'avant-garde de la mobilité durable.

bottom of page